Organizational Structure

Western Interconnection Regional Advisory Body (“WIRAB”) was created as a standing advisory committee of the existing Western Interstate Nuclear Board (“WINB”), which was formed under the auspices of the Western Interstate Nuclear Compact. WIRAB has the same status under the compact as the Western Interstate Energy Board (“WIEB”). WIRAB functions under the bylaws of WINB. It provides advice to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (“FERC”), the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (“NERC”), the Western Electricity Coordinating Council (“WECC”) and Peak Reliability.



The origins of WIRAB date back to the Energy Policy Act (EPAct) of 2005 which set mandatory reliability standards regulating the electric power grid in response to the 2003 Northeast Blackout.

  • August 2005 — EPAct signed • November 2005 — Western Governors adopt resolution establishing WIRAB
  • February 2006 — Western Interstate Nuclear Compact Bylaws amended to:

o Establish WIRAB as an—advisory committee—to Western Interstate Nuclear Board

o Establish WIRAB as separate from WIEB Board

o Provide for WIEB state/provincial Board member to become WIRAB member unless alternative designated

o Provide that all states, provinces and Mexico in Western Interconnection are eligible to participate in WIRAB

  • February 2006 — Western Governors petition FERC for clarification of its interpretation of Section 215(j)
  • March 2006 — FERC clarifies position on Regional Advisory Body funding
  • April 2006 — First WIRAB meeting
  • July 2006 — FERC approves WIRAB
  • September 2011 – Southwest Blackout
  • February 2014 – The Western Electricity Coordinating Council (WECC) bifurcates the Reliability Coordinator function from the organization and Peak Reliability in formed to provide RC Services for a majority of the Western Interconnection.