WIEB Board Members

The legal basis of the Western Interstate Energy Board is the Western Interstate Nuclear Compact (Compact) (Public Law 91-461). The Energy Board is composed of individuals representing: Compact-member states, non-member states invited to participate by the Energy Board, and international territories designated by the Energy Board as Associate Energy Board members. The Compact also authorizes the federal government to appoint an ex-officio representative to the Energy Board.



State/Province Representative Title/Agency
Alberta Christine Lazaruk Executive Director, Strategy and Integration,
Alberta Energy
Arizona Brian Goretzki Chief, Bureau of Radiation Control, Arizona Dept of Health Services
British Columbia Les MacLaren Assistant Deputy Minister, Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources
California Janea Scott Commissioner, California Energy Commission
Colorado Kathleen Staks Executive Director, Colorado Energy Office
Idaho John Chatburn Director, Idaho Governor’s Office of Energy Resources
Montana Jeff Blend Economist, Montana Dept of Environmental Quality
Nevada Angie Dykema Director, Nevada Governor’s Office of Energy
New Mexico Ken McQueen Cabinet Secretary, New Mexico Energy, Minerals & Natural Resources Dept.
Oregon Janine Benner Director, Oregon Dept of Energy
Utah Dr. Laura Nelson Director, Utah Governor’s Office of Energy Development
Washington Tony Usibelli Special Assistant for Energy & Climate Policy, Washington State Energy Office